Video Games into Movies (sometimes a bad mix)

So we’ve all seen movies that have been based off video games, right?Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t. All I know is the upcoming video game/movie morph, Battleship, maybe be a bad idea. Okay so it’s not actually a video game, its more like a board game/movie morph, but still. Does anybody remember the movie Clue. Oh, that’s right we all forgot about that f**k up mess of a movie. I mean, think about it. The actual game Battleship isn’t that interesting. How are they going to create a plot? Is it gonna be like two people sitting in front of large electronic boards with numbers and letters. One yelling out, “F2!”, and the other responding, “Damn! You sunk my battleship!”. Then you’ll see a huge random explosion of a little sail boat or something. Come on! What is Hollywood thinking? They might as well make MouseTrap or Scrabble into a movie while their at it. Maybe I’m being too cynical. I do see where it could work, but the fact that they are really trying to link it to the board game is nuts. Isn’t it? I digress.

Here’s the plot synopsis I found on imdb.com: A fleet of ships is forced to do battle with an armada of unknown origins in order to discover and thwart their destructive goals.

On the Plus side: One of our very own blowhole hunks is rumored to be in it. Alexander Skarsgard. Yep, I may check him, I mean, it out. Rihanna is in it as well.

For you Battleship viewing pleasure…

4 Responses to Video Games into Movies (sometimes a bad mix)

  1. Michael says:

    Your opinion is wrong. Clue is an awesome movie. My cousins and I have watched that so many times over the years.

    • Nicole says:

      I’m sorry I have to agree with mike I love clue I own it on VHS. Tim Curry in his glory days.

      However, I’m not sure I get how a plot will come from battleship, unless they’re just using the title of the game for a movie about the Navy.

    • I think you guys are missing the idea of my whole post. The Clue thing was just a small part of the bigger picture. Sorry if you don’t feel that way.

  2. Jonathan says:

    To be light-heartedness back to this conversation, I would like to state the fact that I had that battleship game. Pretty cool…

    And while I have never seen the movie “Clue”, I must say that it was an AWESOME board game!

Leave a Reply

