Toy Trend

Every Year there is an insane and often, for those working retail, annoying toy trend. This year it’s Zhu Zhu Pets (toy hamsters) and Silly Bandz (gummy animal shaped bracelets). I feel as if these toy trends are getting stranger every year, and maybe that’s because I’m getting older, I dunno. I asked my little cousin once why she like Zhu Zhu Pets and she said to me “Cause they do everything like real hamsters” so I asked her why not just get a real one? She just stared at me.

I admit to being sucked into toy mania, so I am going to list my top 5 childhood toy ‘gotta have its’. note: I’m not including My Little Pony’s or Troll Dolls because although I did play with them, the 80’s had already passed so they were not that hard to find.

1.Cabbage Patch Dolls-If it was socially acceptable, I would probably still play with these, and Barbie’s.

2.Beanie Babies -You had to get the Holiday kind practically in a back alley. Mothers would cut a b—h to get the Princess Di beanie for their daughters.

3.Nano Pets– There were a variety different of these that came out later. My friends didn’t want those kind though because they were “generic”. I didn’t see the difference since they always let theirs die anyway.

4. Razor Scooters– Like the Nano pets you had to have the real deal or else you weren’t cool.  I of course had a Nike scooter because the Razors were very hard to find…my cousin deemed me unworthy of coolness..

5.Furby- I only wanted a Furby because my best friend had one, and I wanted ours to talk to each other, because I was told that is what they would do. Lies. Furby caused the end of my trend because it started talking in the middle of the night and scaring the crap out of me.

After Furby came tickle me Elmo which, I was tempted by, not because I liked Elmo(I didn’t at all) but because everyone else wanted it so bad. Even my cousin who was 4 years older than me got one!

Don’t buy into it kids unless it’s what you really want, or else it’s just a waste of money and stress. True Story.

Leave a Reply

