April is Script Frenzy Month

Ever heard of NaNoWriMo? Every November is National Novel Writing Month where writers all over the world try to write a novel in one month’s time. I’ve been familiar with the concept for a couple years now but I’m always too busy in November to do much with it, what with final projects and final exams and all.

I recently found out that there’s a similar event for screenwriters. Script Frenzy takes place every April and the goal is to write 100 pages in 30 days. Granted, that’s not a 100% finalized script, mind you. The goal is to entice you into writing something so that at the end of the month you have a completed draft of a screenplay. Personally, I find screenwriting far less intimidating (although far more stifling) than prose writing, so I’m going to give this one a shot. Thanks to a boring lecture this morning, I was able to brainstorm and outline some ideas for the story I’ve chosen to work with. I don’t know if the story will stretch 100 pages, as I only have some vague ideas for scenes right now, but as long as I can finish a draft in the next 22 days, I’ll be satisfied. (Plus, I wrote a 10 page short for my Adaptations class earlier in the week, so I’ll most likely count those as 10 of my 100 for the month.)

So will you be attempting Script Frenzy? Let me know if it interests you and let me know come May 1st how successful you were. I suppose I’ll make another post at that time to explain how it went for me. And if I don’t, well, we can assume I either lost interst or failed miserably. Best of luck to all who take a shot at it!

-Michael

PS. I didn’t sign up for the Script Frenzy website. I’m just doing this for fun, on my own accord.

Leave a Reply

